Legend has it that my grandmother was Marilyn Monroe’s butt double.  Like I said before, this doesn’t make any sense to me.

1.  Why would she need one?

2.  How did my grandmother end up doing it?

My grandmother was a double in another movie, Northwest Passage, which was filmed near where she was raised in Idaho.  If I were all on top of things, I would scan the pictures we have of her in costume (Joey?  please?)  For this story, I cite my sources as Cousin Di, who heard it from my uncle and great-aunt.

In one of the train scenes, near the beginning, there are several shots of Marilyn’s back side.  Apparently, one of them is my grandmother.  I tried to figure out which shot it could be, but I think it’s one of those things I’ll just have to take on faith.  My grandmother’s derriere was superior to Marilyn Monroe’s.

