According to wordpress, all I did yesterday was comment on Kate’s “chicken. on a goat.” post.  So goes BloPo.

In fact, what I actually did yesterday was go to church, make a hasty stop for a bagel and coffee, and rush to the library.  I got pity from the coffeeshop girl when she discovered that the bagel would, in fact, be my first nourishment of the day (it was noon).  I got cream in my coffee.  Wee!

Once home, I ate leftover fish, gently warmed in the oven on a bed of vegetable bouillon infused rice, with the hint of a glass of white wine.  Yes, I realize I left a vegetable out of that meal.  In fact, out of my day.  Also fruit.  Unless you count the fruity notes in the wine, which I don’t, just as vegetable bouillon is not a vegetable.  Want to write my paper for me while I prepare a delicious vegetable?

I thought not.

Okay.  If you’re taking a writing class, you expect your instructor to be able to produce a well-written handout, or essay question, or what have you.  If you’re taking a computer class, you expect help on technological problems.  If you’re taking a nutrition class, you expect good snacks in class (what?  is that just me?)  If you’re taking a class on information, you expect your teacher to be good at giving you information.  Like, say, information about what she expects from the assignment.

HAHAHA.  Think again.  Apparently the idea behind an information behavior class is to test your interpretation skills.  To test how you and vague information behave together.  Can you tackle that information?  Can you wrestle it to the floor and beat a word count out of it?  Can you twist its arm and demand more specific guidelines? Can you pull its hair and make it answer your questions?

Because the teacher sure as hell isn’t handing you information on a silver platter, oh no.  This is Trial by Fire.

