Here’s a slightly incoherent, apparently “live” blog of the winners: Waiting for the Envelopes.

I’ve read 2 out of 3 on the awards I was most curious about:

Caldecott: Flotsam by David Wiesner

Honors: Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet by David McLimans and Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Carole Boston Weatherford

I would love to have opinions on these, but I simply didn’t keep up on my picture books this year. I did manage to catch Flotsam and was entranced by the illustrations, so I say hurrah for that choice.

Newbery: The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron

Honors: Penny From Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm, Rules by Cynthia Lord, and Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson.

I hadn’t heard of Lucky, but I am delighted to see that my branch already had it on order (only one other branch – the one with the big tax bucks – owns a copy). The only honor I’ve read is Rules, which I liked, and I’ve heard good things about the other two. I am disappointed by several titles that lost out, and I’ll make a list (of course!)

Printz: American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

Honors: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing by M.T. Anderson, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, and Surrender by (I have no idea).

This is the medal where I want to pump my fist in the air and shout, or something. Or, you know, grin smugly because I’ve read 4 out of 5 titles. And I fully support most of them. I was just rereading ABC last night to write a review for my YA class, and noticing on the second go round how much it’s packed with literary goodness, so I feel extra smug on that count. Octavian, my darling, has been relegated to honor status, but I can accept that. I can deal. He’s quite cluttered with medals these days, as is ABC.

Books that lost out:

Sold – this book is simply phenomenal. Heartbreakingly beautiful and gruesome at the same time.

The King of Attolia – maybe just because we’ve all got a crush on Gen, but that doesn’t mean that Turner isn’t one of the sharpest writers out there. This deserves an award all of its own.

A True and Faithful Narrative – at least an honor, people, come on!

Any other book that lost out big time?

PS – the webcast is archived now! Fun geeky watching!  Anyone else notice when they said The Giver is more than 20 years old?  Hmm, I seem to recall it winning the Newbery in, oh, 1994?  And I LOVE hearing the cheering and clapping for the winners.

