I love seeing this on the powells.com bestseller list:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron
  2. Rules by Cynthia Lord
  3. Gone Wild by David Mclimans
  4. Flotsam by David Wiesner
  5. Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson

I support children’s books taking over the world (did I say that out loud?)

 

In other news, I feel like I’ve been reading The Woman in White FOREVER. Not that I’m not loving it, because it’s fantastic (although I don’t really like Laura – Marian is the spunkier one and gets my admiration) but I guess I’m too used to reading those delicious, short children’s books. I’ve been reading it for over a week without taking a break for anything else* and it feels pathetic having such a long gap inbetween titles.

 

The books on my shelf are taunting me. Let’s list them and maybe they’ll stop.

 

 

  1. Write to Kill
  2. The Autobiography of Henry VIII
  3. Enduring Love (audio)
  4. Reading Like a Writer
  5. 109 East Palace (inspired by The Green Glass Sea to try non-fiction)
  6. River Secrets
  7. The Many Lives and Secret Sorrows of Josephine B.
  8. Peace Like a River
  9. Three Men in a Boat (audio)
  10. The Ghost Map (more non-fiction!)
  11. The Architecture of Happiness

This is not mentioning all those books I bought at Powell’s and have yet to read. Or the audio book (I think Miss Pym Disposes) that’s tucked under the seat of my car, waiting for me to finish Three Junes (I didn’t know what I was expecting from this, but it’s totally different in a good way). Or my roommate’s books that I’ve been wanting to read. Or The Sea of Trolls and Kiki Strike which are waiting in my basket at work because I won’t be able to fit them on the shelf if I bring them home.

 

*That’s a lie. I reread American Born Chinese to write a review.

