(It’s exclamation point day)

This one’s been making the rounds and doesn’t have too many questions that irritate me.
Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?

Anything but mass market.  I like books that can lay open on the table while I eat.

Amazon or brick and mortar?

Either.  Amazon if I know what I want, b&m for browsing.

Barnes & Noble or Borders?

Powell’s.  It’s got the intellectual thing AND the coffee shop.  And the used books.  And it’s an entire city block.  And the parking garage is INSANE.

Bookmark or dogear?

Bookmark.

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?

Separated into hardcover and paperback, adult, children’s & picture books.  Alphabetized by author in each section.  Non-fiction loosely by subject (I don’t own much non-fiction).

Keep, throw away, or sell?

Keep, or donate if I don’t want it around anymore.

Keep dust jacket or toss it?

Keep it.

Read with dust jacket or remove it?

I own very few with dust jackets, I don’t really have a preference.  I would probably cover all my own books if I had the option.

Short story or novel?

Novel. All the way.

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?

Either.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

Depends on the mood.  HP for adventure, LS for literary humor.  All of you that tried The Bad Beginning and gave up – you are missing out.  Things really get rolling around book six (The Ersatz Elevator), but once you lower your plot expectations, they become effing hilarious.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?

Tired?  Who gets tired?  Who stops reading?  Chapter breaks only make you want to keep reading, who can stop there?

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?

Both.

Buy or Borrow?

Borrow from the library, then buy if I fall in love.

New or used?

Used.  Cheap.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?

Recommendation (my own or someone else’s).

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?

Whatever serves the story.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or night time reading?

As the opportunity arrives, the book is by my side.

Stand-alone or series?

I read more stand-alone, but I do enjoy a good series.

Favorite series?

All-time, Chronicles of Narnia.  Recent, Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief and so on.  Adult, Lord Peter Wimsey.

Favorite children’s book?

Maybe The Giver.  In a few minutes I’ll have a different answer.  Wait, The Maggie B.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?

If I’m talking to people who don’t read children’s/YA, it’s bound to be one of those.  Just about anything I show up at job #2 with, no one’s heard of.

Favorite books read last year?

  • Behind the Scenes at the Museum
  • Broken for You
  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
  • Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life
  • Case Histories
  • The King of Attolia
  • The Ear, the Eye and the Arm
  • Summerland
  • A True and Faithful Narrative
  • A Drowned Maiden’s Hair
  • The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing
  • How I Live Now
  • Looking for Alaska
  • Saving Francesca
  • Feed

Favorite books of all time?

ALL TIME?  These questions are torture.  Pride & Prejudice stands alone in terms of rereads.

Least favorite book you finished last year?

Not the worst, but the one I was most disappointed in: Headlong by Michael Frayn.

What was the last book you finished?

The Case of the Missing Books.

What are you reading right now?

Inkheart, Whale Talk, and I Am the Messenger.

What are you reading next?

Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe (the next Josephine book), Ali and Nino, Maude March on the Run, Esperanza Rising, Just Listen, or Peace Like a River (I keep putting this aside).  Hmm, fewer options on the bookshelf than I thought.

