Now that I’m free to cook and eat whatever I like, the domestic good times have been rolling around here.  Yesterday was the first annual LambFest.  It was just about the simplest dinner party to host ever, as all I had to do was the Lamb.  I wrangled my guests into bringing: an elaborate salad, a sweet potato casserole (which was really more of a warm, savory pudding), chocolate chip cookies, and of course dear roommate whipped out a few bottles of wine from her (extensive) stash.  I’d never cooked lamb before (I don’t often cook meat) so I was nervous, but I just rubbed the chops all over with a blend of lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, marjoram and oregano, and let them rest for a while, and then broiled them up in mere minutes.  The whole meal was beautiful.  Note to self: have people over for dinner more often.  If only because it inspires me to clean up the place…

In reading news, I’ve run through a couple children’s books lately:

  • Weedflower, which I enjoyed SO much more than Kira-Kira.
  • Maude March on the Run!  Wild west, adventure, girls mistakenly accused of bank-robbery…fun sequel times.
  • The Thing About Georgie – I loved the beginnings to each chapter, and I read it in about 2 hours.  Fun with a little thoughtful thrown in.
  • The Invention of Hugo Cabret  – I think I was more in love with the format than the actual story, although there was nothing at all wrong with the story.  Loved the illustrations.
  • Esperanza Rising.  Yeah, yeah, everyone says it’s good. Because it IS.

I also started The Girl in the Tangerine Scarf, although I got distracted when Kitri and I spontaneously started reading aloud in the evenings – we were discussing, what, Newbery winners?  And I pulled Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH from the shelf, because it’s been years since I read it, and K had only seen the movie, and we were trying to remember exactly what it was about, and before we knew it, we were munching popcorn and tossing the book back and forth (literally) between chapters.

Excuse me, I have to go eat some baked ziti and catch up on all the schoolwork I abandoned during Holy Week and Bright Week.

