Lifted from babelbabe.

A book that made you cry: Bridge to Terabithia – Katherine Paterson, The Kitchen God’s Wife, Amy Tan

A book that scared you: The Historian, Elizabeth Kostova (not a lot, but I don’t tend to read scary books at all)

A book that made you laugh: Me Talk Pretty One Day, David Sedaris (anything of his)

A book that disgusted you: if I’ve read any I’ve blocked out their titles

A book you loved in elementary school: The Little House series, Chronicles of Narnia, All of a Kind Family

A book you loved in junior high: The Giver, Lois Lowry.  I loved her Anastasia books, too, and anything by Lloyd Alexander, Susan Cooper, Madeleine L’Engle, L.M. Montgomery
A book you loved in high school: I started reading Dorothy Sayers, Elizabeth Peters, Elizabeth Goudge.  I loved A Prayer for Owen Meany from my senior English class.

A book you hated in high school: As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner.  Hands down.

A book you loved in college: The Poisonwood Bible, Barbara Kingsolver.  I think I started reading her in high school, but I distinctly remember trotting around the English countryside with a copy of PB in my backpack.

A book that challenged your identity: Writing Down the Bones, Natalie Goldberg.  I haven’t looked at it in ages, but it got me to think of myself as a writer.

A series that you love: Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey series

Comfort books: L.M. Montgomery – Anne, Emily, The Blue Castle; Pride and Prejudice

Your favorite horror book: see answer to disgusting books question

Your favorite science fiction book: The Ear, the Eye and the Arm, Nancy Farmer

Your favorite fantasy book: Toss-up between The Thief and sequels and The Blue Sword

Your favorite mystery book: Gaudy Night, Dorothy Sayers or maybe Josephine Tey’s Daughter of Time

Your favorite graphic novel: I’m so behind on the graphic novel thing.  American Born Chinese was excellent, but not precisely a favorite.

Your favorite biography: I’m not much of a biography reader.  I just flip through for the pictures.

Your favorite “coming-of-age” book: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, M.T. Anderson (I’m just going to assume I’ll love Volume 2, too), or maybe Daddy Long Legs, Jean Webster

Your favorite classic: Pride and Prejudice.

Your favorite romance book: oh goodness, I’d probably have to say a Rosamunde Pilcher, but the titles all run together

Favorite kids’ book: The Maggie B, Irene Haas. I have to stop at one because otherwise it will never end, but I do have to say I’m quite taken with Paul Galdone’s version of The Three Billy Goats Gruff, especially after looking at other really crappy illustrations (TTBGG is my next story for class).

Favorite cookbook: shockingly, I don’t have one.  I am a fan of Nourishing Traditions, but I pull my baking recipes from elsewhere.

Your favorite book not on this list: Behind the Scenes at the Museum, Kate Atkinson, Fugitive Pieces, Anne Michaels, Atonement, Ian McEwan…um, see the tab at the top that says “read these”?  All those.

