Where have I been? Devouring The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. I got up this morning, ate two blueberry pancakes, and didn’t put the book down (except to make a cup of tea) until I’d finished it. It lived up, not only to the title, but also to the front cover blurb describing it as ‘absolutely gosh-wow,’ a phrase I had stuck in my head the entire time I read. It even included an Antarctic adventure! And a near-drowning on dry land! Okay, those were the least of its wonders. A time-investment, all those delicious pages, but well worth it. And, the first title checked off of the Book Awards Reading Challenge. Next up will be Roller Skates (Newbery, but of course), another one that’s been languishing on my shelves for far too long.

I’ll have pictures of the Blackberry Mascarpone Tart once my brother wakes up an emails me the pictures – the final assembly occurred at my parents’ house on Saturday, and I’d forgotten my camera. But good thing I made it for a crowd, because boy was it messy once I cut into it. Also, I couldn’t seem to keep my fork away from it and would likely have consumed the entire thing if left to my own devices. Fortunately everyone else was enough enamored with it to leave no leftovers.

PS – I’m in search of the perfect, classic, blueberry pie recipe.  Any ideas?  I’m considering this one.

