Contrary to what it might seem like, I don’t just read and cook and eat.  I, um, also go to work.  Okay, so I do just read and eat.

Yesterday I made:

  • Tomato sauce, recipe from Nourishing Traditions.  It called for an awful lot of oil, and is otherwise basic and smooth.  I froze it (not before splattering some on the floor, of course) so we’ll see later how it turned out.
  • Morning Glory Muffins (no morning glories were harmed in the making of these muffins) with three smallish apples, no carrot, lashings of coconut, raisins, walnuts, and a touch of molasses.  Delicious.
  • Roasted Tomato Soup.  I also just remembered that Bronwen had a slow roasted tomato soup recipe, which I’ll have to try another time.  This was a bit thin so I let it simmer down quite a bit and then strained it, but the flavor was excellent – the red pepper flakes and garlic add a nice kick.  Wonderful with garlic-toasted baguette for dinner.

Yesterday was a perfectly crisp and clear fall day.  Forget the calendar, if it looks like fall, smells like fall, and tastes like fall, it IS fall.  I’m mostly happy about this, except for the fact that it’s a slippery downhill slope to winter.  Already I’m wearing slippers around the house and huddling under blankets and making endless cups of tea.  I just want to curl up with Middlemarch and finish it, but not until I knock something off my to-do list.

