I left Middlemarch in my desk at work on Friday.  And no, it was not a subconscious desire to ditch it, because I’m less than 100 pages from the end and I’m looking forward to all the loose ends tying up, some happy couples and good grief do I want Rosamund to get what’s coming to her (although I can’t remember if she does).  I was planning on finishing it over the weekend – I was looking forward to it – but not enough to drive all the way to work on a Saturday off.

Instead, I finished Consuming Passions: A Food-Obsessed Life  – fun, and got me craving coconut cake and fried chicken and and and…

Last night I knitted my way through the first half of the Middlemarch movie – a perfect knitting movie, by the way.  The book is funnier, since most of the humor comes from what Eliot tells us and not what the characters themselves say.  The inner debates and turmoil are muffled, naturally.  But still quite enjoyable.

Then, I picked up Emma-Jean Lazarus Fell Out of a Tree.  Which is awesome.  I haven’t kept up on new children’s books as well this year, but even without comparing it to many others, it’s a solid little book.  I love Emma-Jean and her logical mind, navigating the confusing hallways of middle school.  Not that she reminds me of myself AT ALL.  No, no, not one bit.

