So this year’s mock Printz is rapidly approaching on winged feet, although not quite so rapidly as Christmas – a week seems alternately FOREVER (when I am at work at it’s 10:30pm) and NO TIME AT ALL (when I think about when to finish Christmas shopping and the fact that the fast is almost over). Anyway, mock Printz. Good stuff. If you haven’t been paying attention, the Printz is the award for “excellence in young adult literature.”  Which, I am all about – the YA lit and the excellence.  I went to a mock Printz last year and it was delightful, and two out of our three top titles ended up as honor books.  So, decent track record.

Let’s look over this year’s list, shall we?

  •  Alexie, Sherman. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian: I loved this one and would be quite content to see it win even more awards.
  • Anderson, Laurie Halse. Twisted: Solid and fast-paced and interesting, but not amazing.

  • Asher, Jay. Thirteen Reasons Why: I’m still waiting for this puppy to come in on hold.

  • Barakat, Ibtisam. Tasting the Sky: This one is sitting on my shelf.

  • Cameron, Peter. Someday This Pain Will be Useful to You: Like Twisted, although a completely different type of story, it never quite crossed into ‘loved it’ territory.

  • Dowd, Siobhan. A Swift Pure Cry: This one was a downer.  And not in the good, tear-jerker, sympathy for the character way, but in the I only finished it because I felt like I should kind of way.  I’m curious to hear what the others think.

  • Hemphill, Stephanie. Your Own Sylvia: Waiting on my shelf.

  • Resau, Laura. Red Glass: Just came in on hold – will pick it up tomorrow.

  • Schmidt, Gary. The Wednesday Wars: If this doesn’t win something (and I think of it more as Newbery material than Printz, although both awards cover the age-range) I will be pulling out my best Caliban curses – toads, beetles, bats!

  • Sharenow, Rob. My Mother the Cheerleader: Waiting on my shelf.

Alexie and Schmidt were the only two I’d read before I got the list, and so far none of the others have knocked them off their pedestal.  I guess I’d better get cracking on the rest.  What’s funny about these mock awards is that some titles seem like such sure winners to you, and then you realize that other people didn’t get the same thing out of them.  And some people end up loving the very titles that irritated you beyond belief (Criss Cross, anyone?)   For instance, I’m sure that someone will love A Swift Pure Cry.  I can see why someone would.  But for me, it just didn’t work.  Maybe what I’m learning from these mock awards is how to guess how other people will respond to certain titles, and which ones I’ll have to fight for.

