Today I found time – out of my busy schedule, haha – but really, it IS busy these days – for a quick little trip to Powell’s.   The parking garage was full, which was probably for the best as that place is scary enough when you’re driving a miniature Toyota, let alone the days when I would drive my boat of a ’68 Dodge up the garage’s terrifying slopes.

I went through the place shockingly quickly, considering I was shopping for a book smörgåsbord for my brother, a board book or two for my godson, and finally spending my own gift card that I’ve been clutching in my hot little hand since August (thanks, Jane!)  I would guess that I spent longer figuring out the parking meter than I did picking up the first four books.  My final haul included:

  • Mo Willems’ The Pigeon Loves Things That Go! and Tana Hoban’s Black on White for the baby
  • Kate Atkinson’s Emotionally Weird for me, used of course – the only one I haven’t read yet and it will be saved for a rainy day (which could mean, really, any day).
  • Maile Meloy’s Liars and Saints per BabelBabe’s recommendation – plus it was on sale for $6
  • Eva Ibbotson’s YA reissue of A Song for Summer – also on sale for $6, and her YA is reliably light and fun without being too light and fun.
  • 3 mystery items for my brother, who may or may not be reading this.  But he did always like to snoop through our parents’ closet to see what he was getting for Christmas (now he just snoops to see what Mom has ordered online) so I will say this: until today, I never knew that Powell’s had an aisle called “Science Fiction and Fantasy – Film, Television and Media Tie Ins.”  I suppose that’s the city of books for you.
