I saw this meme at Katya’s blog and thought it looked like fun.

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews?

Good question…maybe The Lovely Bones.  I’ve heard lots of good things but lack the will to pick it up.  It’s the kind of thing where, I imagine, if I were staying at a friend’s and finished my own book and they had it laying around, I’d pick it up out of curiosity.  But I’m in no hurry to seek it out on my own.

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be?

I’m tempted to say Gen from The Thief, etc., but something tells me it would make for an awkward social event, so matter what the occasion.  He’s best admired from a distance, in my case.  Okay, let’s go with an afternoon tea with Anne Shirley, Lizzie Bennett, and Emily Starr.  I’ve always wondered how Anne and Emily would get along, and I would love to chat with Elizabeth.

(Borrowing shamelessly from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): you are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realise it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave?

Hmm, I’m not sure.  Probably something very manly and all about war or sports or something.  Lots of action scenes.

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it?

I am above such things.  I’m more likely to pretend like I remember a book than to pretend to have read it – I have a terrible memory for plot-points.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realise when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book?

I don’t think so – although I’ve had the opposite happen.  I used to read all the Amelia Peabody’s religiously, then I stopped for a while, and when I tried to pick them up again, I couldn’t figure out if I’d already read that particular one or if they were just all starting to sound alike.  I gave up.

You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Advisor to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (if you feel like you’d have to know the person, go ahead and personalise the VIP)

Let’s go with The Wednesday Wars, because if someone’s a VIP and has no time for books, they need something not too long that reminds them that books are supposed to be fun.

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with?

Russian.  Then maybe I could make it through Crime and Punishment and the rest of Dostoyevsky.   And I could reread Tolstoy in the original.  And Chekhov.  And Turgenev.  And Bulgakov.  And…and…and…

A mischievous fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick?

Pride and Prejudice.
I know that the book blogging community, and its various challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one bookish thing you ‘discovered’ from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art-anything)?

I already knew I loved children’s books, but reading Bookshelves of Doom has really made me branch out with the YA I read and try things that I otherwise wouldn’t look at twice.  I’m all over the YA, now.

That good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leather bound? Is it full of first edition hardcovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favourite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead-let your imagination run free.

The library from Robin McKinley’s Beauty – I seem to remember it containing books that hadn’t been published yet.  Now I have to go check.  Yes!  Room upon room of books, with a sentient staircase to help you reach the top shelves, and: “I didn’t know there were so many books in the world,” I said…”Well, in fact, there aren’t,” he said. ..“Most of these books haven’t been written yet.”  THAT is my dream library.

