Sure, sure, we’re almost halfway into February, but I never went over everything I read in January.  Because I’m obsessive like that, I’ll do it now.

  1. My Mother the Cheerleader, Robert Sharenow
  2. Red Glass, Laura Resau
  3. Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher (audio)
  4. Gideon the Cutpurse, Linda Buckley-Archer
  5. A Great and Terrible Beauty, Libba Bray
  6. The Uncommon Reader, Alan Bennett
  7. The Amulet of Samarkand, Jonathan Stroud
  8. To Say Nothing of the Dog, Connie Willis
  9. The Golden Dream of Carlo Chuchio, Lloyd Alexander
  10. Run, Ann Patchett (audio)
  11. The Tea Rose, Jennifer Donnelly
  12. Rebel Angels, Libba Bray
  13. Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key, Jack Gantos (audio)
  14. The Exception, Christian Jungersen
  15. The Madonnas of Leningrad, Debra Dean
  16. The Winter Rose, Jennifer Donnelly

I actually read SIX books published for adults!  Shocking.  Hmm, well, that seems to be the only thing I have to say about that list.  With the exception of two Mock Printz titles that I didn’t care for, I was pleased with everything else I picked up.

Now on to the present, where I am still awash in books and reading too many at once.  Last night I finished up Then We Came to the End,  which was pretty funny, but the only time I cared was for the brief moment it switched out of second person.  The ending was strangely satisfying, and the very last sentence was intriguing, but I was too tired to figure out what it meant.

Today I polished off the marvelous The Museum Book, which I recommend as a good quick non-fiction pick for anyone who shares my abiding passion for museums.  Especially museums in London.

Now I’m reading, on Kate’s recommendation, Drowning Ruth.  I conveniently found a copy on the library sale shelf right after she mentioned it, so I paid my $2 and took it home and stuck it on my shelf.  Then today it occurred to me that, like Kitri, I ought to put books I own and haven’t read yet on my library shelf, so that I’ll remember I want to read them when it comes time to pick out something new.  So I loved it over, as well as Anil’s Ghost, which Jenna gave me for Christmas so that I would read it.  (Which is kind of funny, because it sounds pretty intense, and last time Jenna was asking for book recommendations, she turned down a lot of suggestions because they sounded too intense/depressing.)  Anyway, I picked up Ruth while I ate my popovers and drank my coffee.  And I really think a study ought to be done on the effects of consuming popovers and coffee while reading, because it becomes difficult to stop.  I think the three things have some bizarre symbiotic relationship.  Witness my reading of The Winter Rose last month (okay, that may have been because the book was that addicting).

