As a belated Valentine’s Day recommendation, I offer up the movie Sweet Land.  It was, well, incredibly sweet.  Set right after World War I, in a farming community in Minnesota, where Inge has traveled from Germany to meet her Norwegian husband-to-be.  The community, of course, is very anti-German, and the minister won’t marry them and the judge won’t give her citizenship and marry them – this whole attitude reminded me of the world of Hattie Big Sky.  There’s a fantastic pie eating scene, which I think Babelbabe will appreciate, and the landscape is gorgeous, and the tension between characters is great, and even though I could tell where the story was going, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride.  And you know I don’t recommend movies often, so take this one seriously.  It’s out on DVD.  Available at my local library.

Now I want to make a pie.

