It’s Baking Day, again.  I’m using the same recipe for Oatmeal Maple-Honey Bread (see recipe a few posts below, I’m too lazy to link).  My right arm is SORE from kneading, although not my left, which makes me think I need to balance the workload between my arms more.  Yup, really deep thoughts for a Monday morning.

The first week of April was a whirlwind of travel and school and socializing – I had a social activity planned every day from Wednesday to Sunday, which was great and I wouldn’t have missed any of them, but on top of 2 fulls days in a classroom and about 8 hours in the car and 6 hours at work?  I’m glad it’s Monday and I don’t have to go to work until 4.  Of course, spring quarter started so now I have homework, but I need some recuperation time before I throw myself into that.  Oh, the joys of being introverted.

March was a pretty good month for reading – I managed 17 books, 5 of them audio books.  Four were grown-up books and the rest were childrens’ or YA.  And I really liked most of them, which gives the month a nice feel in my mind.  To look back over all the lovely titles and not regret the time I spent with them.  The Sparrow was my favorite for the month, hands down.  But there were some other good ones – Before I Die was a classic tearjerker, I, Claudius was pretty fab, The Golden Compass and Bloody Jack were great audio productions.  Okay, I’d better stop before I mention every single book I picked up.

I finished A Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce yesterday, which I enjoyed but was never quite won over by.  I’d been looking forward to it – I do like my fairy tale retellings, and Rumpelstiltskin has a fond place in some of my earliest memories – and maybe I never fell for it because the reading was stretched out – a few minutes before bed here, a few minutes on the bus there, and most of it while I was dead tired.  It reminded me a lot of Robin McKinley’s Beauty, but without the same sense of magic to it.  I mean that more in the sense of writing magic than fairy tale magic, but I guess it’s true in both senses.  I think I also liked the character of Beauty more than I liked Charlotte Miller, although I really wanted to like Charlotte.  They have a similar sense of responsibility and loyalty and hard work, but…I lost patience with Charlotte.

Now I’m reading Lauren Groff’s The Monsters of Templeton – I have no idea where it’s going, but I’m enjoying being along for the ride.  I’m also listening to Suite Francaise in the car and Born on a Blue Day in the house.  And (finally) reading Elijah of Buxton.  I know I’ll like it, but I’m finding myself drawn to more grown-up/YA stuff lately, and it’s languishing.  It cracks me up every time I open it up, but I’m not compelled to finish it.

And, in completely unrelated news, I picked up a calendar at church the other day and realized it’s only THREE WEEKS till Pascha/Easter.  For some reason that doesn’t sound long at all.  If you think “it’s only 2 weeks till Palm Sunday” it sounds even shorter.  And if you think “next Sunday is the last Sunday of Lent” it sounds like nothing at all.  And then an inexplicable desire for Lent to last longer comes over you, and you beat your head lightly against the wall to try to get rid of that thought.  I’ve been running out of ideas for what to eat (other than lots and lots of bread and jam – Frances is always with me) but yesterday I had one of those conversations where you swap ideas and come away feeling all inspired.  Now I just need to go to the store and gather supplies.  It’s time for a vat of soup.  Or maybe just a small pot, because I inevitably get sick of soup before I reach the bottom of the vat.