I really ought to be doing something unspeakable to an excel spreadsheet for my research class, but instead I’ve been going on a hold-placing spree at the library catalog and looking up reviews of books I may or may not ever commit to reading (Skeletons at the Feast - do I finish it or not?)

My shelves suddenly felt bare – only 5 unread library books, and all but one are thin and spindly – mere snacks in the world of reading.  I’ve been going through them like nobody’s business (considering all the other things I ought to be doing).

I was mildly disappointed by Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s latest – Princess Ben – but I still liked it.  Maybe I was disappointed in proportion to how much I loved Dairy Queen and The Off Season.  Or in proportion to how much I love other fairy-tale type stories in general.  At any rate, there are plenty of good things about it and I recommend it to fans of fairy-tale retellings (even though this isn’t one).

I practically gobbled down Suite Scarlett, Maureen Johnson’s latest.  It was a hilarious blend of over-the-top and realistic, but what was funny was usually not what happened, but the snappy little ways in which Johnson described things.  A great summer book.

Then I tried Ysabel, by Guy Gavriel Kay.  I’m all over kids fantasy, but I usually don’t touch adult fantasy (see, it just sounds wrong) with a ten-foot pole.  However, I’d read glowing reviews at Chasing Ray and Bookshelves of Doom and it sounded good.  And, frankly, it sounded like YA.  I can do YA fantasy.  And yes, it really is YA at heart, concerned with a 15 year old growing up.  Sure, there are centuries-old conflicts, some druids, plenty of descriptions of Provence that make me ache for another trip, oracular pigs, a touch of romance, a healthy dash of history (oh, those Romans!) and a few fight scenes.  But really, it’s all about a teenager having the world as he knew it collapse, and knowing he’ll always have to think about everything differently after this.  Fantasy is just an extreme way of depicting the coming of age story.  So – published for adults, and a decent read for anyone interested in the history of the south of France or looking for a fantasy that won’t make your eyes roll too much, teens or adults.  If you want more plot description, go read the two reviews I linked to.  And Leila pointed this out, but I noticed it, too – there’s a real similarity in mood to the Dark is Rising sequence, and I would definitely recommend it to teens who liked that series but want something a bit older.

Ysabel also got me thinking about a trend in YA books.  I once heard a teen complain that there are too many YA novels where the main character only has one friend.  Perhaps they make another friend in the course of the story, perhaps not.  But I think this happens a lot to 1) highlight feelings of isolation and 2) because it’s easier to create one good friend character than the whole cast of characters we usually surround ourselves with – a bosom buddy, a few good friends, a bunch of acquaintances, etc.  You can’t introduce that many people in a 200-page book.  So a common antidote to the one-friend scenario seems to be removing the teen from his or her normal surroundings.  Have them travel, or have all the friends leave town for the summer.  Create a situation where it’s not loser-ish of them to only have one or two peers to interact with.  This happened in Princess Ben – she gets moved into the castle and loses touch with all her old friends because she has to write fake, stilted letters to them.  In Suite Scarlett, all her friends have left town for the summer.  In Ysabel, Ned is traveling with his father, but we hear about how his friends back home might react – he only has to deal with one peer, who is also isolated from her normal friends by being an exchange student.  Even in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, for crying out loud, the friends spend most of each book apart.

Now I’m trying to think of exceptions, where a group of friends are actually friends and spend the course of the book together, in their normal homes and situations.  Anyone?

