I finished up listening to People of the Book just in time to avoid adding to my library fines.  I definitely enjoyed it – particularly listening to all the accents.  I love listening to accents, and this book had a great range.  To my inexpert ear, they were all passable.  Who knows, maybe they would grate on any Austrialian, Bosnian, Spanish, Italian, British, or German ear.  But to me, just fine and enjoyable.  It reminded me how much I enjoy listening to people speak other languages – one of the things I enjoyed about living in London and Italy (yes, London – walking down my street, I was just as likely to hear another language as English).

Anyway, here was my main beef with the book: I really really really wanted it to have been written by Mary Doria Russell.  Nothing against Geraldine Brooks (I really enjoyed Year of Wonders), but MDR would have made the story into something subtler and more amazing.  But I kind of wish I’d never thought of this, because it was distracting.

Meanwhile, I have 3 assignments due in the next 8 days, and then I’m FREE.  Free to have one quiet week and then jump into my internship.  But, no more feeling guilty about reading instead of doing homework!  No more nagging sense of un-done schoolwork 24 hours a day!  Complete freedom in my (limited) spare time!  Plenty of time to listen to audiobooks while driving to internship (and work, of course)!  Involvement in not one, but two summer reading programs!  Oh joy!

I’m still reading Anil’s Ghost – I have no idea where the story is going (if anywhere) but I’m enjoying the process.  I don’t always feel like picking it up, but as soon as I do, I’m sucked in.  It has an ethereal quality – sort of hazy and dreamy, but in a slightly gruesome way.  That doesn’t make any sense.  But it’s how I feel.  I’m also still listening to the third Bartimaeus book – Ptolemy’s Gate.  Goodness, I love Bartimaeus.  It’s the details, the snarky little remarks, the turns of phrase – the big picture of the story is a good, smart fantasy with complex (and sometimes despicable) characters, but the real life of the story is those details.  And listening to the story highlights it all fabulously.  I heart audiobooks.

