I think most of the insanity has ended and life is settling back down a little bit.  I’m no longer housesitting, I’m 100% done moving (although not 100% done unpacking – I’ve got a few boxes of baking supplies & kitchen odds and ends waiting to be assimilated, and no pictures up on my walls yet), and I actually get a WEEKEND.  A weekend-plus since I only work one job today, instead of two, in order to go to a bachelorette party.  Then I have tomorrow off to go to a wedding (not the same friend as the bachelorette party) and Sunday is completely free.  Wow.  Is this how normal people live?  They get off work at 5:30 on Friday and don’t have to show up again to work until Monday morning?  I could get used to this.

I stepped into my role as house baker this morning, and I do call it a success even if I’m the only one around eating the fruits of my labor (little brother is still sound asleep, and everyone else is off doing whatever they do – seriously, considering there are FIVE adults living in this house, I barely see anyone.  I haven’t seen my mom in days.  Did I mention that I’m living with my entire family?  Hellooo, savings account!  It’s nice to see you, too!)

After poring over my cookbooks last night, in consultation with my brother who thinks there should be more cinnamon in the world, I ended up putting oats and buttermilk to soak overnight for Oatmeal Muffins.  This time I added a dash each of cinnamon and nutmeg, and plopped a few frozen boysenberries (or were they marionberries?  I can never remember which is which) and blueberries into each muffin cup.  The
boysenberries were HUGE and turned into slightly tart, jammy spots in each muffin.  Since I didn’t stir them in, I didn’t get those unsightly blue/gray streaks in that batter that berries often leave.  A success!  The original recipe called for raisins, and I’ve made this recipe with dried cherries, currants, and raisins, but my heart still belongs to fresh/frozen fruit.  Next time I’ll have to try the whole grain version of the recipe (once I figure out where all my odd flours went to…)

