I actually went on a little grown-up book kick for a while, but I think I’m back off it – I blame The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.  I tend to have a love-hate relationship with grown-up books.  Sometimes I want something with real substance and oomph, and children’s books don’t feel like they have enough substance.  Black Swan Green, So Brave, Young and Handsome, and City of Thieves suited me well in that mood.

Actually, never mind – I’m not off the kick.  I just switched to fluffy grown-up books, with a smattering of children’s lit.  I started rereading Elizabeth Peters’ Vicky Bliss books – art history mysteries which require very little thought for the amount of entertainment provided.  They’re over-the-top and and make fun of themselves, and never ever claim to be anything other than quick, comfortable reads.  I ate them up with a spoon in high school, and I’m getting a kick out of rereading the older ones while I wait for the brand-new installment to come in on hold.  Right now I’m listening to #2, Street of the Five Moons, on my ipod.  It’s a perfect distraction from work.  What’s amazing is how much of detail I remember, despite not having picked them up in at least 10 years.  I suppose they could be considered a guilty pleasure, but I refuse to feel guilty – they’re great for summer vacation.  (And yes, I insist on calling it summer vacation until September 27, when I have to show up for class.)

I’ve a got a few more substantial grown-up books waiting for me – The Lazarus Project, which hasn’t quite hooked me yet, although I like it whenever I pick it up, and The Reserve, which sounds interesting. I’ve also got a bunch more on hold – things I’ve heard good things about here and there – but for the moment I’m happy to stay in fluff mode.

Enough chattering about books – I think it’s time to go bake something (and keep listening to Street of the Five Moons.

