A cold, drizzly October day calls for one thing – a pan of brownies.  Okay, two things – a pan of brownies and a few cups of coffee (or tea).  After adding a bajillion new books to my Goodreads to-read list, I set about making these Chocolate Zucchini Brownies.  I’ve been craving chocolate (when don’t I crave chocolate?) and it’s getting a bit chilly for ice cream, and lately I’ve eaten more than my fair share of chocolate chips straight from the bag.  So brownies it is.  I haven’t cut into them yet – any minute now – but I’m looking forward to it.

One of my favorite things about living here is that the mail carrier goes down the other side of the street first, so if I see the truck go past, I know I have a few minutes to finish up a letter, find that DVD that needs to go back, dig out the stamps, find my shoes, etc. and still get it into the box in time.  This is the life, I tell you.

I’m about to start listening to the new Kate Atkinson – whee!  And I have a pile of YA books that are calling my name.  Plus all those picture books to review.  It’s like a book orgy around here.