I said before that in this election, the issue I’m most personally attached to is the Library Distrcit measure in my county.  It passes, we get secure funding – not just what we’re currently getting, which is adequate, but MORE funding.  It fails, they phase out the county funding and there are cuts at all the county libraries.

I didn’t get home from work until 10 pm, and all I caught on the radio was Obama’s win and some discussion of the statewide ballot measures.  I turned on the TV (I don’t think I’ve ever turned on the TV here before, it took me a minute to get it off the DVD setting) and watched some coverage for the fun/torture of it.  President elections always send me into flashbacks to the 2000 election, my first presidential election, when I was a sophomore in college and everyone in the dorms was super into the election.  We all stayed up way too late and still didn’t find out who won (and no one was very happy when they did find out).  Anyway, flashbacks.  This whole announcing a winner before bedtime thing throws me off!

The local news is scrolling Oregon results across the bottom, while people go blah blah blah on the screen, and then I see it – oh, sweet victory!  The Library District is passing by 61% – my new favorite number.

ESTABLISH A COUNTYWIDE LIBRARY SERVICE DISTRICT

          Vote for  1
           Yes  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .    36,812   61.10
           No.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .    23,435   38.90

I might manage to find a full-time job when I graduate afterall.  Okay, let’s not get too crazy here.  But I am feeling a great deal of affection for those 36,812 voters (that’s with 78% counted).  I’ll sleep well tonight.

Appropriately, I went to the library this afternoon for some school projects and I now have 71 items checked out – perhaps a personal record.  Just doing my part for stats…

