I heart Ellen Emerson White.  Her books are so addicting that I keep thinking they’re fluff, but they’re not.  They’re awesome and well-written.  I even just ordered myself the complete Meg Powers set so that I can have them at my fingertips.  (I put my tuition on an Amazon credit card, and then I pay it off right away and get gift certificates, and right now I’m swimming in them since I just paid fall tuition.  When I was at Powell’s picking up my copy of Octavian Nothing last month, the clerk made a jokey comment about my Amazon card, and I told him if Powell’s did the same thing, I’d be all over it.  I just like free books.)  They’re totally the kind of books I’ll want to reread, because they’re engrossing and the characters are fab and always feel real, and there’s always so much tension that you can’t put them down.  Sure, it makes me a little tense, too, in a staying up till 1 am reading kind of way, but I love it.

I finished White House Autumn a few days ago.

White House Autumn White House Autumn by Ellen Emerson White


My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is the sequel to The President’s Daughter, but it can easily be read out of order – but why would you want to miss any of the books in this series? Here are a few of the things I find so compelling about White’s books in general: the characters are always down to earth, regardless of the extraordinary circumstances of their lives. The families act like real families with believable problems. When the characters do stupid things, you understand why, because the tension is very real. This, in turn, makes the books hard to put down, because you believe in the characters and their problems and you want to make sure they’re okay. But you also don’t want the books to end, because they’re also snarky and fun and intelligent. The teenagers feel like teenagers, the adults feel like adults.

The President’s Daughter is probably the lightest one in the series, in terms of content. In White House Autumn, the family is dealing with an assassination attempt, which heightens all the issues that the first book brought up, about how to be a family in the public eye, and how Meg feels about her mother being president. The next one, Long Live the Queen, is the most action and suspense filled installment, and then Long May She Reign goes back to the inner turmoil – and college life. They’re all gripping, and I will definitely go back to this series again for good, involving rereads.
View all my reviews.

This morning I finished Life Without Friends, which is pretty much the same kind of awesome, minus the politics.  Also, instead of a shiny new paperback with a great cover (I love the reissue covers!) I read a beat-up copy from 1987 with a cracked spine and a cover that looks slightly…chewed.  It didn’t really detract from the experience.  Oh, another thing I like about EEW’s books is that the characters wear sweatpants.  I was all about sweatpants (in 1987).  I was also six years old, but still.  They also eat a lot.  Or rather, a lot of their meals are described.  Life Without Friends is a sequel to Friends For Life, but no library in the tri-county area owns a copy.  At least I’ve still got beat-up copies of The Road Home and All Emergencies, Ring Super waiting for me at the library.  And I can always reread.

Oh, and here’s a link to an interview with EEW, by Liz B., which includes links to plenty of reviews and info and all that good stuff.

