I ought to be writing Christmas cards, but I’m facing my annual dilemma – I don’t send a lot, and I never use up a whole box in one year, which means that every year, I’m using up at least one or two previous year’s cards – and that I risk sending the same person the same card twice.  Yeah, there are worse things that could happen, especially when they are cards I like.  And most people probably forget, but still.  I feel weird.

I’m reading The Knife of Never Letting Go and just zipping right along.  The language and style really fit the story well, and there’s plenty of suspense – and it just might contain my favorite fictional dog.  I’m not an animal person at all – but Manchee cracks me up.  As the opening sentence tells us, “The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say.”  But somehow, Manchee still manages to have a fabulous voice in the story.  And I can’t help but admire a YA book with an epigraph from Middlemarch:  “If we had a keen vision and feeling of all ordinary human life, it would be like hearing the grass grow and the squirrel’s heart beat, and we should die of that roar which lies on the other side of silence.”  PERFECT for the book.

I have a new pet peeve, thanks to the snow and cold weather.  The main roads were pretty clear yesterday, but the back streets were still icey, so I put chains on my dinky tin-can car before driving to work.  Which of course meant that I was driving 25 the entire way to work, and back.  Which I can’t help, because I have CHAINS.  Because I don’t want to meet an icey death a block away from my house.  But whenever I was driving down a 2+ lane road, in the slow lane, other drivers felt the need to tailgate me.  Arg.  Today I am chain-free and am hoping against an icey death.  We’ll see.

