I gave blood this morning and now I’m CRANKY and don’t want to go to work.  I also realized I miscounted my credits for graduation and am one – ONE! –  shy.  Oh, the humanity.  I’ll get it sorted, but it’s annoying.

Another thing annoying me is that my favorite YA books of the year aren’t on the Mock Printz list.  Not that next week’s discussion won’t be fun, but I might as well get annoyed while I’m on a roll.  My top three right now are probably Octavian Nothing, Tender Morsels, and The Knife of Never Letting Go, with Pretty Monsters and The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks following close behind, along with The Adoration of Jenna Fox. Okay, two out of six isn’t bad, but I’m not ready to fight for those two they way I am for my top three.

I’m almost done with the mock list – just Skim left to read.

I haven’t seen many Printz predictions, but I liked Carlie’s list, even though we disagree about Madapple.  Actually, I could see the Printz going to Madapple, but I didn’t like it.

All this listing is reminding me that I never did any end of the year round up – although I did count the other day, and I almost hit 200 books for the year – a 20 or so increase over 2007.  As usual, I don’t count picture books or short non-fiction – that would be cheating.

One thing I always notice, looking back over what I’ve read, is finding things that seem like I read them ages ago, when it was really only a year.  Other books I remember really liking at the time, but they haven’t really lived on in my imagination.  Some I don’t remember until I see the title and get the feel of the book all over again.  I’ll come back with a round up.

