Wicked Lovely Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr


My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
I can’t decide if this just wasn’t my kind of thing, or what. I think it’s a book that would appeal enormously to teen readers who like slightly dark fantasy with fairies and some romance. For me, the writing just wasn’t strong enough to hook me into a topic I’m ambivalent about. I was really intrigued at the beginning – Ash is a fairly strong main character, and there were intriguing hints at her family’s past and at the motivations of various fairies. The beginning of her relationship with Seth was nicely swoony, but then he turned into Mr. Perfect and Supportive and I missed the earlier tension (although I hear we get his point of view in a later book and everything isn’t so perfect – a fact which convinced me to keep going with this series). Overall, I think the book has a strong hook with interesting characters and plot, but it’s not one that I’ll rush out and recommend to other adults as a great example of teen literature – but I would definitely recommend it to teen fans of slightly goth fantasy, Twilight, etc. (In one sense this is much better written than Twilight, but for me it lacked that bizarre addictive quality).

View all my reviews.

