One of my favorite kid-lit blogs, Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast, has this fun Sunday tradition of posting “Seven(ish) Exceptionally Fabulous, Beautiful, Interesting, Hilarious, or Otherwise Positive Noteworthy Things from the past week, whether book-related or not, that happened to you.”   And I almost never join in because I don’t think of it on Sundays, but I read this week’s post and felt like joining in, especially since I didn’t procrastinate too much on my weekly writing assignment and have a little free time.  It’s nice to start a new week on a positive note.

  1. My portfolio passed both evaluators, which means I have two final assignments due on the 17th, and then I am a Master.  Of Library and Information Science.  Can I call myself a Master when I have a master’s degree?
  2. My good friend Katy (not the Katy who already has children) has a garbanzo bean in the oven.  Actually, it’s probably bigger than a garbanzo bean now.  She wonders, “How is it that I fiercely love a person that is the size of a garbanzo bean? I have never met a person the size of a garbanzo bean, but I like this one.”  So do I.
  3. I made some bizarre but kick-ass vegan brownies, and I want to eat the whole pan.
  4. I get three weeks of vacation for the coming year (up from two) and hopefully I can take them all in June/July and then start a new job.  Doesn’t that sound like the perfect end to a boring job?  But keep your fingers crossed for that new job.
  5. It’s the Sunday of Orthodoxy, and we processed in a downpour of hail.  That doesn’t sound particularly kick-y, but it was somehow kind of fun.
  6. I made a tasty vegetable curry yesterday and discovered that I don’t hate shrimp like I thought I did.  The Sea of the Fast: 1 week down, countless weeks to go.
  7. I watched Man on Wire last night with my mom, and was totally delighted.  Who knew documentaries could be so enchanting?  The last few minutes were unexpectedly a little bit of a downer, but overall I highly recommend it (and now I need to reread The Man Who Walked Between the Towers, which was my first introduction to the story).
