If I’d spotted this last year, I would have looked at the calendar, realized that October 12 is a Monday and thusly I would be working all evening, and then I would have wept bitter, bitter tears.

Instead, I look at the calendar, realize that October 12 is a Monday and thusly I am FREE in the evening, and there was much rejoicing and I ran over to my neighborhood library and picked up some tickets.

You’re too lazy to follow the link and feel jealous?  Behold:

2009 Teen Author Lecture

photograph of M.T. Anderson

M.T. Anderson, National Book Award and Printz-winning author of The Astonishing Life Of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; Feed, and many other titles.

On October 12, 2009, at 7 pm, M.T. Anderson will deliver the 2009 Teen Author Lecture at The Old Church, 1422 SW 11th Ave.

Sweet mercy in a firkin, we’re going to go see M.T. Anderson!  Now I don’t feel so bereft about missing all of Wordstock (because I’m working this weekend), including Sherman Alexie (!), Karen Cushman, Jennifer Holm, Laini Taylor, Scott Westerfeld – and a bunch of other people who don’t happen to write for children.  Good thing I’ve got Mr. Anderson’s lecture to console me.

