Christmas was wonderful.  It was lovely to see lots of people at the Christmas Eve service, after last year’s snow keeping most people at home.  We feasted liturgically, then feasted on food, then refused to be shushed while the choir sang some carols afterwards.  Really, who wants to be shushed at 1:30 am when all you really want to do is catch up with your out of town friends?

Then off to bed for a few hours of sleep before getting up to make cinnamon rolls – something that I’ll hopefully manage to turn into a Christmas tradition.

We went through our stockings, and ate buttery cinnamon rolls, and opened gifts.  In the afternoon we packed the car full of sweets – chocolate gingerbread, blueberry strata pie, chocolate cheesecake, and a bonus pan of cinnamon rolls for the cousins – and headed over to have dinner with the other local branch of the family.

Fortunately for me, it was a lamb-tastic Christmas – yes ma’am, Greek-style lamb, potatoes, those delicious grape-leaf things whose name I can never remember.  Mmm.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

Gosh, now I’m finishing up this post a week after the fact and I don’t remember what all I was going to reminisce about – let’s just say there was good company and good food.

I got out my camera and went a little crazy, which I hadn’t done in a while – the camera or the crazy.  They were both great.  I always love looking back at pictures, but I don’t always remember to get out the camera.  Or I’m just not in the mood to document – I only want to sit back and enjoy the moment.  I don’t know what makes the difference between a photographed occasion and an undocumented one, but I do know that once I get in the habit, I keep it up.  Also, once I get out the camera, it’s easier to just keep taking pictures.

The next morning, I rolled and baked the rest of the cinnamon roll dough – I love how they looked before the frosting got drizzled on and ruined their nice Greek key look.  I also gave away two more pans, in case you think I sat around my house all day eating cinnamon rolls.  For your information, I only had them for breakfast and as an afternoon snack.  Ahem.

Then I kept up the baking theme with a cocoa-buttermilk cake for my god-daughter’s baptism, which was on Sunday.  I never actually got to try it, since I was too busy eating lamb stew (yes! more lamb!) and drinking glasses of wine.  Yes, yes, I did move straight from my first cup of coffee of the day to my first glass of wine.  It’s not everyday you get a wonderful new baby to see exorcised, blessed, baptized, and Chrismated.  She was very cooperative through the whole thing, sleeping right up until right before she was undressed and dunked, then (of course) kicking up a fuss when she re-emerged, then having a snack and sleeping peacefully to save up energy to focus on her Chrismation.  And focus she did – giving Fr. David and her godfather good hard looks before rubbing chrism into her tiny fists. 

This is perhaps not her most flattering angle, but I was a bit busy doing god-parenty things during the actual baptism and will have to rely on others to furnish me with pictures.  Needless to say, I’m completely smitten and honored to be her godmother.

Since then I’ve gone on to bake two pans of brownies (coworkers birthday) and Dorie’s Orange Berry Muffins (holiday party at work), which might be my new favorite blueberry muffin recipe.  In fact, I’ve got more buttermilk and more blueberries (the last of the measly quantity I froze last summer) so I just might make more this weekend.  And now that the Advent fast is over, I can eat whatever I please – it’s so fun!  I’m roasting a chicken to close out 2009, and I have three kinds of cheese in my fridge.

And it wasn’t until I started hearing lots of “best of the decade” lists that I even realized that we’re at the end of a decade.  I have a hard enough time with best of the year!  I haven’t been keeping good track of my reading for the whole decade, so I’ll probably just stick to my usual end of the year lists in random categories, unless I get really inspired.  But the whole decade?  Sheesh, I was 18 when it started.  I graduated from high school and started college.  But I will come back soon with my usual year-end round-up, and an update on my mock awards reading the status of my to-read shelf, and what I’m thinking of getting with my Powell’s cards.

