You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 7, 2010.

Lent may be over, but Long Distance Kitchen carries on!  New and improved, with meat and dairy!  However, I am super behind on posting my results, so bear with me.

About a month ago, Bronwen assigned this recipe, courtesy of her friend Anna.  Here is the informal recipe:

Ingredients:
Wheatberries (can be soaked overnight if you want)
Kale (chopped)
Garlic (sliced)
Soy Sauce
Vegetable Oil
Sweet Potatoes
Tofu

1. Cook the wheat berries. (Something like 1 cup to 2 to 3 cups water). Bring them to a boil in a covered saucepan, then turn down the heat to a simmer and cook for 45 minutes to an hour until tender.

2. Cut up the sweet potato and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper (you can add cumin or other seasonings if you like). Roast in a 400F oven for about half an hour (depending on the size of the pieces).

3.  Slice a block of tofu into four or five rectangular slices. Fry them in a skillet with vegetable oil until they form a skin on each side. Then take them off the heat and chop each block into slices, return to the skillet and briefly sauté with soy sauce.

4. Do everything fairly simultaneously, but if anything is done before the rest is ready, just keep it warmish.

5. Heat olive oil in a skillet and add sliced garlic. Cook it in the oil until it’s golden and just beginning to crisp a bit (careful not to burn). Scoop it out with a slotted spoon. Cook the kale in the skillet until bright green and tender.

6. Toss together wheat berries, roasted sweet potato chunks, tofu pieces, and kale. Top with crispy garlic and enjoy.

7. You are so healthy.

I’ve never been tofu’s biggest fan, and I must confess to never having cooked kale before (or wheat berries, but that’s slightly less shameful).  And I wasn’t really sure what the end result would taste like.  I was definitely pleasantly surprised.

The sweet potatoes were fantastic, and I loved this savory way of preparing them.  With the wheat berries, I wasn’t sure exactly how firm/soft they should be when done, and I hustled them a little since all the other ingredients were ready.  I think I would cook them a bit longer in the future, but they’re another item that I’ll keep in mind as a starchy base for a meal.  The kale turned out nicely, and I liked the garlic on top of everything for a final kick.  The tofu was probably my least favorite part, but still tasty.

Overall, a filling and nourishing meal.  I don’t know if I’ll make the whole ensemble again, but it definitely gave me practice in cooking the different pieces, which I’m sure I’ll make again.

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Flickr Photos

Picnic in the park

upload

Ben 426

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers