In my seemingly endless effort to catch up on posting Long Distance Kitchen recipes, here’s what came next: Acorn Squash with Chili-Lime Vinaigrette, courtesy (again) of Smitten Kitchen.  Bronwen’s version can be found here.

This is a tasty, simple way to prepare squash.  Basically, you cut it into wedges, toss with salt, pepper and oil, and roast until done.  The wedges get all lovely and browned, and you can go about making something to eat with it.  I was super lazy and just made some rice.

While it’s roasting, you prepare a vinaigrette.  Don’t skip this, because it’s delicious.  Don’t think, I’ll just eat some plain roasted squash.  Don’t.

Mash some garlic (I was spacing out and had my handsome assistant do this, so I’m not really sure how it happened – like Bronwen, no mortar and pestle at my house).  Add salt, lime juice, chili and cilantro, plus some oil.  I just used some chili pepper flakes, lacking a fresh hot red chili.  Chilies intimidate me.

Drizzle the vinaigrette over your roasted squash.  Enjoy.

My only quibble with this recipe is that one squash + two people = lots of leftovers, and it was pretty blah when reheated.  Some of the zing was gone, as well as the great crispness of the freshly roasted squash.  Or maybe only dress the slices you’re going to eat, and reserve some vinaigrette, and recrisp your squash under the broiler for a minute when you get around to eating the leftovers.

