You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 5, 2010.

An Incomplete Revenge (Maisie Dobbs, #5) An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear

Maisie Dobbs – and her stories – are steady and reliable. There’s some occasional excitement and a good variety in the mysteries she solves, but the pace is measured and thoughtful and the mysteries always wind their way back to the first World War. This story is no exception, and as in several others, the setting plays an important role. We see hints of Maisie branching out in her personal life, and there are some changes forced on her, but it all feels earned, especially if you’ve read the first four books.

One minor complaint I had was the role of gypsies in the story. I can’t speak to the accuracy of their portrayal, and I’m sure Winspear did her research thoroughly, but I had to roll my eyes several times. A gypsy grandmother? Really?

As usual, Orlagh Cassidy is a great narrator, matching the tone and pacing of the story nicely. There have been a few different readers for the audio versions, and I think she’s my favorite.

Source: public library (can anyone afford to buy ALL their books, let alone all their audiobooks?)

View all my reviews >>

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

Ben remembered that he likes yogurt.

upload

Dinner success - the rare occasion when we eat exactly the same thing (except no hot salsa on his rice & beans).

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers