In what seems to be the perpetual state of affairs, I’m trying to catch up on writing about what I’ve been reading.  I almost chucked the whole idea for a while, but it’s so handy to be able to look back and see what I originally thought.  So I wrote up a few reviews and I have them scheduled to appear sooner or later.  But what am I actually reading right now?

  • Keeper by Kathi Appelt.  This one looked sweet and has been getting some buzz, so I thought I’d see what the fuss is about.  The style is similar to Appelt’s Newbery Honor title The Underneath, with a strong sense of place, multiple animal characters, and repetition of themes and phrases.  I’m curious to see where the story goes, but it’s not completely gripping yet.
  • Wishing for Tomorrow by Hilary McKay.  This is the sequel to A Little Princess, and I picked it up today after accidentally leaving Keeper behind.  I love McKay’s sense of characters.
  • Mariana by Monica Dickens.  Another foray into Persephone Books, and so far it’s funnier than I expected.
  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley.  I’m listening to this one in the car, and completely enjoying the narration.  Over the top and fun, although I’m not paying as much attention to clues as I am to characters.

And since I’m also behind on reporting on my Long Distance Kitchen adventures, I will tempt you with the fact that there’s an absolutely delicious berry cobbler sitting on my table.  Actually, it’s peach and blueberry with a smidgen of marionberry, and the best cobbler topping I’ve made to date (thanks, Dorie Greenspan!)   I’m looking forward to digging into it again for breakfast tomorrow (ssh, don’t tell the breakfast police).  Photos and full report to come.  There are also multigrain buttermilk pancakes on the horizon…which just makes me think of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs.

