Another summery recipe to torment you – except with this one, you can just as easily use frozen fruit as you can fresh, so there is no need to cry.  Whip out those frozen berries and make your own cobbler – warm cobbler sounds fantastic for a blustery fall day or for a hot summer day.  The recipe is from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking (a cookbook I can thank Kate for introducing me to and sending to me).  Follow this link for the recipe on NPR’s website.

The recipe calls for about 5 cups of mixed berries, and when Bronwen mentioned she was thinking of uses peaches or a berry-peach mix, I jumped on board with that idea.  It being July, I had fresh peaches on hand and I wanted to use up the frozen berries I had in preparation for moving in August.  So I think I ended up with two peaches, a tiny bit of frozen marionberries from my parents’ yard, and the rest frozen blueberries.

Here’s where I have to confess that I’ve never made a cobbler I loved until this one.  Sure, they were tasty fresh from the oven, but within minutes the biscuity layer would go all soggy and sink into the juicy berries, and any leftovers would be a mushy mess.  As you can see, with this recipe the dough is one solid but thick layer – you roll it out like a very thick pie crust, without worrying about neat edges, then you lay it over the filling to bake.  This way it stays suspended, and the top is still crisp the next day, even though the underside soaked up a lot of the juices.  Perfect.  See?

The berries are just lightly sweetened, thickened with a little cornstarch, and have a nice little tart addition with some grated lemon zest.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.  Here’s how I ate it the first night:

And here’s how much I liked eating it for breakfast the next morning:

I think it’s time to make another one…

