Well, yesterday was Meatfare Sunday, which announces the coming of Lent.  No more meat until after Pascha (Easter) and this week is the last week for eggs & dairy, so I’m declaring it Dairy Week.  A final round of those delicious poppy seed wafers made with butter, eggs and heavy cream?  Yes, please.  Crumbled feta on a cracker?  Why not!  Buttery apple crisp with vanilla ice cream?  Why yes, let’s pick up some more vanilla ice cream.

This morning I realized that I didn’t have any granola to go with my Greek yogurt, so instead I thought I’d make oatmeal.  But I wanted it to be…exciting…so I checked out the index of Good to the Grain to see if she had any suggestions.  That’s when I spotted a recipe for steel-cut oatmeal and remembered that I had steel-cut oats languishing in the cupboard.  She has you toast the oats in a little melted butter, then add the water and cook until thick and creamy – and the result really IS thick and creamy.  Pour a little cream on top (don’t mind if I do) and add a bit of sweetener (she has a recipe for a pear compote, but I went for quick and easy with maple syrup) and stick the leftovers in the fridge to reheat on work mornings.

I’m a happy camper – and I think this will still be delicious during Lent without the cream (shh, I cheat with butter during Lent) but with some fruit.  I’m always at a loss for Lenten breakfasts beyond toast with almond butter.  Regular oatmeal is okay, but to me it just begs for DAIRY to make it more exciting.  The steel-cut oats are just a touch more thrilling.

In related news, Bronwen and I are picking things up again with Long Distance Kitchen, just in time for those Lenten recipes!  Hello, beans!  I still have old recipes to post (ahem) so maybe I should get started on that before I dive into the new stuff – milk tea cupcakes, green tea & chocolate macaroons, that apple crisp (are we sensing a dessert theme here, or is it just me?)

