Once upon a time, in an apartment on the other side of the river, I made Honey-Peach Ice Cream as a Long Distance Kitchen recipe.  It was August, and I’m sure the weather was pretty much the opposite of a cold, rainy March day, and something cold and sweet and peach-flavored was just the thing.  I made it at the same time as the Banoffi Pie, as you can see in the pictures.

Apparently I tend to make desserts in clusters.  Feast or famine!  The recipe comes from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking, and you can also see Bronwen’s results here.

Here’s the method: you chop up half of your peaches and cook them with honey, then puree them once they get soft.  You do a pretty standard ice cream custard with milk, cream, sugar and egg yolks, then stir in your puree.  Once the whole thing has chilled, you do the ice cream maker thing and you dice the remaining peaches.  When the ice cream is just about done, toss in the peach chunks.

I used nectarines, which Dorie mentions in her “playing around” tips as not needing to be peeled (I’m lazy, and they might have been riper than the peaches when I went to the store).  They were pretty tasty but they weren’t amazing, and that might make a difference.  Another thing is your preference for smooth ice cream versus fruit chunks – I’m more of a smooth gal, so if I made this again I might puree ALL the fruit.  As Bronwen noted, it did get a little frosty – there was a sort of distinct textural difference between the icier bits and the heavy feel of the cream on your tongue.  Tasty, but not lick-your-bowl amazing.

(Please note that I have a bias towards chocolately ice creams and was trying to extend myself by introducing more fruit to my ice cream maker – I haven’t made one yet that won me over from the chocolate camp).

