Okay for NowOkay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If you liked The Wednesday Wars, you must read this. Schmidt hits a lot of the same notes again, but his style – the voice, the characters, the whole thing – is so pitch perfect that I immediately wanted to start it over from the beginning (a rare feeling for me). In fact, I listened to the audio and then read the print version a few months later. The only downside to the audio is that you’ll want to look up the Audubon illustrations in a book or online, because they’re really key to the story. When I reread the print version, I found myself flipping back to that chapter’s illustration anytime the image was discussed.

The book’s only flaw is that it stuffs in a few too many things plot-wise, but for me that never detracted from the story. Not perfect, but pretty close. And I’m not lying.

Source: my public library

View all my reviews

