Oops, I go missing for a month and have way too much to catch up on! The only thing I’ve more or less kept up with is adding books to Goodreads, with the occasional quick review. I’ve been on a long road trip, a short road trip (for work, to OLA in Bend) and a quick weekend trip. I haven’t read as much as I wanted, but I do seem to be getting close to catching up on my library books. I’ve had way too many books checked out for…oh, the last three years. “Catching up” is an illusion, an unattainable goal. Striving is what counts, and not letting the same books sit there so long that I can no longer renew them (6 months, if there are no holds).

I feel like I keep circling back to the same authors lately – in the last two months I’ve read multiple books by Diana Wynne Jones (why oh why did I never read her as a child?), Ally Carter, Hilary McKay, and Caragh O’Brien (first two in a series). I’ve also been working my way through George R.R. Martin’s books, but those audiobooks are so long that it’s months in between finishing one book and the next.

I’ll be back before too long with a few batches of reviews, plus I’ve been thinking about summer reading and I have some storytime posts percolating. Also, some cooking posts inspired by a recent run of yummy, new-to-me recipes.

*Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina

