You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 21, 2005.

I don’t sleep in anymore. I lost my ability to sleep in, so I claim, upon graduating with a BA. I can keep strange hours, and be lazy, but I can’t really sleep more than 8 hours, or 9 tops. Sometimes I cheerfully wake up with less than that (although not too cheerfully).

This morning I woke up at 10am.

After going to bed around 11:30pm.

Okay, on to more interesting topics. Does anyone else out there just absolutely love Trina Schart Hyman’s illustrations? I think I first ran across her in…great. She’s dead. Died in November. I hate it when you find out things like that.

Anyway, I first saw her illustrations in Caddie Woodlawn. I also had a strange fondness for this book as a teen. The picture of the house alone was enough for me. I’ve always been able to spot her illustrations from a great distance – the earnest girls with their hair billowing, the fairy tale forests…Last night at the library I was shelving fairy tales and saw her version of Sleeping Beauty, which I had to stop and read, sitting on the floor in the 398’s.

I adored fairy tales as a child. One of my early memories is acting out Rumpelstiltskin with my mom. I devoured most of Andrew Lang’s fairy books. And then, I stopped liking fairy tales. Probably around the same time I stopped reading only fantasy and historical fiction and starting reading contemporary fiction. High school/college? A few months ago I picked up a book about the Grimm Brothers, talking about all the women they gathered stories from, and suddenly fairy tales sounded fascinating again.

July 2005
« Jun   Aug »

Flickr Photos

The faces of Ben are out in full force this morning.

Conquering fears at the park


More Photos

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers