I’ve always had a hard time with the whole “telling people how I feel” gig. It’s part of that whole personal bubble, you know. And while what I write here isn’t particularly intimate, the simple fact of typing and publishing in such a discoverable way is a challenge for me. I have to turn off the part of my brain that worries what others will think of me. I keep a blog because I enjoy the writing. But the real product of all of this is that I’m peeling back the layers of what I’ll let other people see. Even if it’s just thoughts on books or the walk I took or what I thought was funny today. I’m committing my thoughts and opinions to paper, as it were, and leaving them around for people to read.

Not to imply that each little post is this struggle of creation and revelation of self. No, it’s more the whole concept of it. And as more and more people that I know see this and read it, I have to think about what they will think of me.

And I’ve decided I don’t care. If this perceived is frivolous or profane or a false search for intimacy, I don’t care.* I don’t want to be evasive or defensive or worry about who tells who about my blog. I don’t want to require anonymity to be able to say what’s on my mind.

This is good for me, and damn it, I’m going to keep writing. Right here.

And I think I might even tell my family about it.

*Not you, my dear blogger friends.

