Somehow I’m always surprised by my state of collapse after a Saturday at work (8:30 am – 6:30 pm).  My energy stays up as I rush through the last hour of things to do at work, my book on tape (The Franchise Affair, Josephine Tey) keeps me alert in the car…but as soon as I walk through the front door and set down my things, I shut down.

All I want are comfort objects.  A bowl of leftover stew.  Buttered toast.  Hot cider.  A book.  An hour or two with Maggie Smith and Judi Dench (Ladies in Lavender – and what the hell was lavender about them??)  If I really exert myself, a batch of brownies and a finished knitting project.

Today I finished Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life (and discovered that the same author wrote two children’s books that I very much enjoyed).  Kitri has taken to picking it up whenever it’s been laying around the house and reading excerpts aloud.  I read most of it in a gulp.  I might steal Lazy Cow’s idea and do encyclopedia themed entries myself.

I also read Skellig by David Almond, which I everything I wanted “A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings” to be when I first heard that title.  My kind of magical realism, in other words.  Which, great – now I have to go out and read everything else he’s written.  Thanks a lot.  (Although the paperback cover leaves a great deal to be desired.)
And because I’m compulsive like that, I told myself, “self, you just finished two whole books.  You’re now allowed to make two more holds active.”  Which is not to say that I don’t have 5 and a half other books at home right now.

