Brothers

This morning I read Lugalbanda: The Boy Who Got Caught Up in a War. Which is a nice retelling, or at least I assume it is, because, drat, I never got around to learning how to read cuneiform. Anyway, I like the whole oral tradition put down on paper & illustrated dealio. I like stories where you can imagine them being retold and retold and embellished or pared down. The detail of this or that added or taken away. The ending twisted to a new interpretation. The wise child who asks not for power or riches but to be able to run without ever tiring.

I thought the cover art was a bit blah and it sat on my shelf for weeks until I picked it up this morning and man, the illustrations have an awesome feel. The cover doesn’t do it justice (although I am very intrigued by these wool pant/skirt things all the characters wear – apparently well researched but I wonder if any depictions of these garments survive or if she had to imagine what they wore?)

My favorite picture is of Lugalbanda’s brothers (he’s got seven – a cosmic number, as my mother would say) gathered around him when he’s sick – they’re all touching him and petting him and bringing him things. Anyhow, it’s got adventure and and giant bull-eating birds and gods and an unexplained riddle and woolly garments…pretty much everything you expect from an epic tale, right?

Breakfast, English

I just made my third cup.

Blustery

Wind gusts of up to 80 mph. I don’t think that was in Portland, probably the coast or gorge, but still. I heard it on NPR. Kate would be going crazy with the wind, good thing she moved to California.

Beets

Are baking. Yum.

Broom

Why is it so difficult to get around to sweeping the floor? But what a sense of accomplishment!

Bouillon

It’s so handy. I currently stock chicken, beef & vegetable. I bought vegetable (organic, I picked the kind with the least amount of suspicious ingredients) because, well, it’s that time of year.

