You should all go out and read Life as We Knew It.  It’s gripping.  I had another late night reading the second half because I had to find out what would happen.  I’m warning you, though, that you might start thinking like this as you read about the characters rationing their food supply.

I’ll have a little salad for dinner.  I should only have half of what’s left and save the rest, because fresh greens are really scarce.  Don’t even think about getting anything else out of the fridge, because if you eat it now, you’ll regret it later.  

It’s frightening to think about how ill-prepared we are to deal with lack of electricity (let alone if food production halted completely, crops wouldn’t grow, etc.) and how much we take for granted.  Not like that was necessarily the message in the book, but that’s what it made me think of.  How would we survive in those circumstances?

Some of the peripheral characters were a little flat, but really, overall, it just sucks you in and doesn’t let go.

Now, I really must start thinking about Christmas gifts.  And, um, do some baking.  And, oh yes, get out of bed.

