I just read BabelBabe’s book roundup 2006 and God help me if I go read the other lists she suggests before I make my own, because I’d probably never make it back, too busy scribbling down titles to form a coherent thought of my own.

The tally is just in:

  • Adult fiction: 51
  • Adult non-fiction: 7
  • Children’s/YA fiction: 82
  • Children’s non-fiction: 7

Total: 147

I was, I think, 13 titles shy of doubling my 2005 total.

Out of those numbers:

  • Newbery winners/honor books: 11
  • Printz winners/honor books: 5
  • Reread titles: 17 (most of these were audiobooks – Dorothy Sayers and Josephine Tey)

Authors/series I fell in love with:

  • Kate Atkinson (I read Behind the Scenes in January and I’ve never looked back)
  • Hilary McKay (I didn’t start the Casson books until February, shockingly)
  • Megan Whalen Turner (now that a calendar year has passed I can start rereading)
  • Jean Webster
  • Meg Rosoff
  • John Green
  • Katherine Sturtevant
  • M.T. Anderson

Top 5 Adult:

  • Behind the Scenes at the Museum
  • Broken for You
  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
  • Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life
  • Case Histories

Looking over my list, the pickings felt slim.  Guess that means I need to read more adult fiction in 2007.

Top 5 Children’s:

  • The King of Attolia
  • The Ear, the Eye and the Arm
  • Summerland
  • A True and Faithful Narrative
  • A Drowned Maiden’s Hair

Top 5 Young Adult:

  • The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing
  • How I Live Now
  • Looking for Alaska
  • Saving Francesca
  • Feed

These are no best of 2006 list – just my favorites from what I read – the ones I had a visceral reaction too when I saw them on the list.  Looking over all the titles makes the year seem so full.  I don’t mean that to sound pathetic, as in the year had no other meaning, but I experienced all those things this year, I was there with all those characters.  It undoubtedly would’ve been a drier year without them.

