Just back from this year’s Mock Printz (aka, the best excuse ever to engage in heated debate about YA books) and I’ve got our results.  First, a reminder, these were the ten titles we read:

  • Alexie, Sherman. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian
  • Anderson, Laurie Halse. Twisted

  • Asher, Jay. Thirteen Reasons Why

  • Barakat, Ibtisam. Tasting the Sky

  • Cameron, Peter. Someday This Pain Will be Useful to You:

  • Dowd, Siobhan. A Swift Pure Cry

  • Hemphill, Stephanie. Your Own Sylvia

  • Resau, Laura. Red Glass

  • Schmidt, Gary. The Wednesday Wars

  • Sharenow, Rob. My Mother the Cheerleader

My personal top three were The Wednesday Wars, Red Glass, and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. 

My small group’s results were, in a huge lead, Red Glass, followed by The Wednesday Wars and The Absolutely True Diary in a tie with half as many points as our winner.

The actual results were very close, all within a few points:

Winner: Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You

Honor books: Red Glass and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

My favorite part of these things is seeing which books different groups are passionate about.  The small groups all had a teen or two, but mostly librarians (and overwhelmingly women).  As each small group read off their top few titles, there would be gasps of shock from other tables (we were a dramatic bunch).  My group didn’t much care for Someday This Pain, or for A Swift Pure Cry, but a few other groups loved those – and while I could see why, they just didn’t do anything for me.  There was a heated debate about the merits of Thirteen Reasons Why (I pretty much hated it).  One of my group members loved My Mother the Cheerleader, but the rest of us didn’t.  And then you have to wonder how much the group discussion influences your opinions – if I would have liked Someday This Pain more if I’d been in a group where someone really lobbied for it.  Spending 4 hours debating YA books with a bunch of people who’ve read the same ten titles?  Priceless.  Now we’ll see what actually wins the medals come the 14th.

