I’ve been on a major kick lately of adding books to Goodreads – working from when I started adding books this summer, back to 2004.  For a few years I’ve kept track of what I’m reading in my longhand notebooks, so finding all the titles involves flipping through months and months of writing, and I notice odd trends in what I’m reading, how much I’m reading, how much I’m writing – and every once in a while a paragraph catches my eye and I’m back in the summer of 2005, or what have you.  The bottom line is: I used to write a lot more and read a lot less.

Also, I’m coming across a lot of books – mostly adult titles – that I don’t even remember reading.  This feels weird.  I can’t remember what they’re about, and clearly they weren’t too memorable.  Will the same thing happen with some of the so-so books I’m reading now?  Maybe.  On the other hand, then I wasn’t blogging as much about what I read, or writing up mini reviews of anything,  and maybe the act of writing about a book, taking a few minutes to decide what I really thought of it, will create a stronger imprint on my brain.  We’ll find out.  My goal now is to write at least a short something about everything I read – not just adding it to the list – so that I have something to jog my memory if a title starts to slip away.

But why am I reading so much more?  I never spent huge amounts of time writing, after college – maybe 15 minutes or half an hour a day, and now I definitely read much more than that everyday.  Is it because I’m using “keeping up on what’s new in children’s lit for professional reasons” as an excuse?  Is it because I read so many online reviews and get fired up to all these books and make more time to read because I know the list is so long?  Is it because I live with another voracious reader?  Is it to escape from the realities of being back in school?  I have no idea.

Right now I’m listening to The Golem’s Eye in the car (the 2nd Bartimaeus book by Jonathan Stroud) and The White Darkness (Geraldine McCaughrean – this year’s Printz) in the house, while I bake and clean and do dishes.  I’m reading Dreamquake (Elizabeth Knox – one of this year’s Printz Honors) as an experiment in reading the sequel before I read the first book.  I don’t usually do this – I did read A True and Faithful Narrative before I read At the Sign of the Star, but those were more companions than parts of the same story.  Actually, I don’t know how much Dreamquake and Dreamhunter are intertwined – I’ve intentionally avoided reading anything about Dreamhunter until I finish the sequel.  There are plenty of references to things I don’t understand, but it’s the kind of book where things are complicated and you need to concentrate anyway, and I can figure out most of what’s going on.  Plus I get to spend time imagining what the first book might have been about, which is pretty fun.

