I can’t remember where I originally saw the link, but you can listen to this year’s Printz acceptance speeches  here.  I’ve listened to a few of them, but so far my favorite is Elizabeth Knox’s speech – her book, Dreamquake, was an honor book this year.  She tells a great story about her father, and her own experiences with libraries and books (plus it’s always fun to listen to New Zealand accents).  At one point she says that perhaps she should have been a librarian, but decided to be a writer instead.  And then she says something I love:  “Although I have managed to become a writer, my true aim is somehow to become a book.”  Um, YES.  That’s it exactly.  So go give it a listen – or better yet, read her books.  I thought The White Darkness (this year’s Printz winner) was excellent, but Dreamquake was probably my favorite from the list of honorees.  Which reminds me that I need to look for her adult books, too.

