My “currently-reading” shelf on Goodreads is actually accurate.  I can’t think of the last time this happened – there are usually a handful that I’ve finished but just don’t feel like reviewing (since joining Goodreads, I find it physically impossible to mark a book “read” until I’ve written at least a few words – I haven’t decided whether or not this is a good habit).  I suppose being caught up on something trivial like that is what happens when you spend a weekend on the couch, stuffed-up and achey.  I really don’t want to go to work today, but I haven’t called in sick because I’ve been feeling pretty good in the evenings.  It’s the mornings when I lay around and moan.  I also need to get out of the house.

I love that my classes are making me branch out and try new things.  Normally I would never have picked up a book like Nic Bishop Spiders – which relies on full-page, close-up photographs of spiders.  Eww.  While I’m not afraid of spiders, I’ve never enjoyed looking at close-ups.   But this book had me ooh-ing and ahh-ing over the colors (although I avoided looking to closely at the tarantulas) and reading spider facts out loud to whoever would listen.  If I enjoyed it, a spider fan would be in raptures.

I was similarly hooked by Team Moon – I’ve never been big into space and astronauts and all that, but like Spiders, the book was just so gosh-darned enthusiastic about the subject – and the text/photo combo presented the story so well – that the excitement was catching.

Between the two of these, I’m completely convinced to keep an eye out for other Sibert Medalists and honor books.  When non-fiction is good, it is very very good.

