Ink Exchange Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr

My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
This is probably more of a companion than a sequel to Wicked Lovely, and one of the more entertaining aspects was seeing the characters from WL from a new perspective. This story is a bit darker in tone – Leslie has a bad family situation and was recently raped (although this is more referred to than described), and she is almost unwillingly drawn to darker things. While this might make her a less likable narrator to some readers, it gave some depth to the story that was lacking in Wicked Lovely, where I never really felt like the characters were in danger. It also means that she has some healthy derision for the characters from the first book, and my snarky side enjoyed that. I think, though, that the main flaw of these books is taking themselves a bit too seriously – not that they need to be funny, but tone tries to be so intense that the moments of actual intensity sort of get lost. Still, I think they would have great appeal to teen readers who like that sort of intensity.

View all my reviews.

