Bellwether Bellwether by Connie Willis

My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars
While I didn’t think this was as strong a book as Doomsday Book or To Say Nothing of the Dog (which were each fantastic in their own way), it was thoroughly entertaining and successful with its narrower scope. It’s NOT science fiction, unless you define science fiction as being fiction about scientists doing research. It’s got Willis’ usual brisk style and humor, and it’s made even funnier by reading it 10 or 15 years after publication, since a lot of the research mentioned is about fads. The recurring restaurant scenes had me howling. This is one I’ll definitely reread when I need a good laugh.

Also, know that I know what a bellwether is, I’m seeing the word pop up in various places.  And someone picked up a hold on a book about fads at the library, and I had to restrain myself from telling them they should read Bellwether.

View all my reviews.

